Rudely Awakened

Saying that I was Black 28 days a year, was of course, tongue in cheek. It was a comment on the short month, the designated Black History Month, and my idea to see what would happen if I took it somewhat seriously and used that time to reflect on my Black identity and the complex racial identity of my family.

Events of 2014 and 2015 have affected my ability to treat these topics with humor. I’ve always said and been told that I can find the humor in anything. Anything. But things have gotten to the point in the U.S. where I don’t know if I’m doing a service for myself or anyone else by treating race lightly. It’s simply not a laughing matter. Seeing a man shot in the back while retreating is not a laughing matter.

I’ll be updating more frequently. I still may give special attention to February and that original mission here, but I will use this space with a wider mission now.

Undoubtedly, my being a transman will also be a topic of reflection here now. Not just because of Ms. Jenner and us being the flavor of the month, but I see there is a real value in being more out. Strength in numbers and all that. I’ve always been open to talking privately with individuals or families with questions, but now is a time to be even more welcoming,

That’s what’s new here. Please feel free to comment.

Thanks for reading.

Leave a Reply

